Summit on Korean Unification, 2017 

On July 27th, 1953, the United Nations Command, North Korea, and China signed Korean Armistice Agreement which established the demilitarized zone of the 38th parallel and endured longest running war of the 20th century. During the talks, South Korean president Rhee Syngman displayed opposition towards a divided Korea, and rumors speculated he even sent UN troops to sabotage the talks. In June 2000, the June 15th North-South Joint declaration reignited the discussion for reunification but too many obstacles hindered any productive solution. Two Inter-Korean summits have laid the groundwork for reunification but nothing has yet triggered any constructive progress until, perhaps, now: The DMZ remained at peace until just last week when acting South Korean president, Prime Minister Hwang Kyo-Ahn, was assassinated by alleged North Korean spies. Meanwhile, rebel groups and factions have broken out in North Korea after hearing news that the North Korean leader, Kim Jong-Un, has fallen ill. This will be a South Korean crisis committee comprised of Senators, Representatives, and Consultants that will seek to implement appropriate actions and solutions to a rapidly deteriorating international crisis.